joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

slow cooker chili.

on September 14, 2015

It really feels like fall today (until later when it’ll be really hot…of course). There’s a chill in the air and apparently there is football now? Fall makes me think of comfort foods like chicken and dumplings, hot chocolate, apple cider, and soup. I guess chili isn’t exactly a soup, but it’s close enough. Zack loves chili…well he loves cornbread chili, which is chili with so much cornbread in it so a spoon can stand up in it. I like him. Thanks to him, I like chili too.

I’ve never been a chili fan. I’m still not the type of person to order chili in a restaurant or anything like that. But I will eat this chili. With a whole lot of cheese. Naturally. I just don’t really like beans. Or tomatoes. Or spicy things. So…yeah. I was totally against chili for a lot of my life. Now I’m a little less against it. This recipe makes great leftovers which is great for Zack since I work all day. He gets to eat chili for weeks after I make it. Lucky guy.

I never realized how easy chili could be until I found this recipe. All you have to do is open up some cans, drain the beans, throw everything in the slow cooker, measure some spices, and let it all go. It’s perfect to put in the slow cooker in the morning and come home from work to a whole bunch of chili. Make some cornbread and call it good. That’s my kind of meal. I hope it’s yours too! Let’s hope fall comes really quickly!

Happy cooking, friends!

Crockpot Chili
recipe adapted fromĀ lovely life
makes 10-12 servings

1 15 ounce can each black beans, pinto beans, and kidney beans
1 28 ounce can diced tomatoes (or 2 14.5 ounce cans)
1 6 ounce can tomato paste
3 Tablespoons chili powder
1 Tablespoon oregano
1 Tablespoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 to 2 pounds ground beef
1 to 1 1/2 cups water

Put the ground beef in the bottom of your slow cooker. Drain and rinse the beans and add to slow cooker. Add in diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and spices. Add 1 cup of water. Cover and cook on low 6-7 hours, stirring every few hours. Add more water if chili is too thick.
Serve with your favorite toppings; cheese, corn bread, sour cream, etc.
Store chili in the fridge in airtight containers for up to two weeks.
Chili can also be frozen. Thaw in the fridge before reheating in microwave or stovetop.


Leave a comment

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

CaptainAwkward.com

Don't need to be cool to be kind.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story