joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

caramel corn.

on August 17, 2015

My dad makes really delicious treats for us. Most notably Chex Mix, coffee cake, and caramel corn. I have fond memories of my dad getting out the giant paper bags, popping a whole bunch of popcorn and whipping up some caramel corn. It was a good time in our house those days. This recipe is not my dad’s but it is just as delicious. Okay, maybe a tiny bit less delicious; dad knows best.


This recipe came from the pastor’s wife of the church I attended in Illinois during the last few years I was there during and after college. (Thanks, Cathy!!) Whenever I go back to visit, Cathy, my best friend Bethany, and I make caramel corn and talk until way past our bedtimes. Which is what Bethany and I did when she was here visiting last weekend. It’s kind of our thing. That and watching Parks and Rec nonstop.


Summer is almost over but I’m hanging on as much as I can. Caramel corn makes me think of stress-free days and breaks from classes. I hope it brings you good memories too!


Happy cooking, friends!

Caramel Corn
makes about 5 cups

5 cups popped popcorn
1/4 cup butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 and 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup

Spread about 12 inches of wax paper out onto the counter. Spray lightly with non-stick spray.
Pour the popped popcorn into a large bowl.
In a small saucepan combine butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup. Stirring constantly bring to a full rolling boil and boil for 1 minute. Immediately pour onto the popcorn and fold the popcorn until all of it is covered in caramel. Spread into a somewhat even layer onto the wax paper. Eat immediately or wait until cool.
Store in plastic zip top bags once cool.


Leave a comment

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

CaptainAwkward.com

Don't need to be cool to be kind.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story