joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

peanut butter cupcakes

on April 7, 2013

Woah guys! This is my 50th blog post!! That is crazy to me. A lot of things have happened in the last 50 posts. I (in no particular order) started my senior year of college, made some new friends, turned 22, got discouraged, was encouraged, watched a lot of movies, got a boyfriend, did a lot of homework,signed a lease on an apartment, and had a senior recital. I mean, that’s only a few things of the hundreds of things that have happened. I’m really thankful for everything that’s happened this year because it’s been a really great learning experience.

In honor of this 50th post I’m going back to the beginning; peanut butter and chocolate. The first recipe I shared with you guys so many months ago was Batter Up Brownies. Peanut butter brownies with chocolate chips. Still one of my favorite recipes in the world. But really anything with peanut butter and chocolate is good. Therefore: cupcakes!

20130407-161438.jpg

I have more cupcake liners than any one person should have. But that’s okay. I’m always ready to make cupcakes. These cupcakes have been in the making for a long time. Plus, I haven’t really baked a lot recently and I think it’s affecting my homework. I don’t know for sure if there’s a correlation there, but I’m just gonna go with it.

These cupcakes are really delicious. The inside is really moist but the cake is really dense. That pairs really well with the chocolate buttercream frosting. I could have done with a little stronger peanut butter flavor, but it was still pretty freaking good. And I won’t judge you if you throw some chocolate chips into some of the batter. In fact, I would encourage it. It obviously can’t hurt them!

Make some cupcakes, share cupcakes with someone you really like, watch some Doctor Who, enjoy the weather (no matter what it may be).

Peanut Butter Cupcakes
makes 18 cupcakes
adapted slightly from Taste of Home

1/3 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1 and 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line one cupcake pan plus half of another pan with paper liners and set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream together butter, peanut butter, and sugar until fluffy (about 2 minutes). Add the egg and vanilla and beat well. In a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients and whisk together. Add half of the dry mixture to the butter mixture. Beat well. Add half of the milk to the butter mixture and beat. Add the rest of the dry mixture and beat until combined. Add the rest of the milk and beat until the batter is smooth. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 of the way full and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out mostly clean.
Frost with desired frosting and eat.
Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
frosts 24 cupcakes

3/4 cup butter, room temperature
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 Tablespoons milk

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat butter until smooth. In a separate bowl sift together the powdered sugar and cocoa powder. Add to the butter and mix on low until combined. Add vanilla and milk and beat on medium speed until the frosting is light and fluffy.
Store any leftovers in the fridge.

3 responses to “peanut butter cupcakes

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are amazing! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other :) I can’t wait to read more <3

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

