joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

pre-Christmas goodies.

on November 19, 2012

Thanksgiving is quickly approaching which means lots of things. I get to go home on Tuesday. The yearly eye doctor appointment is coming up. I get to go to the yarn store. Green bean casserole. Mashed potatoes. Chocolate chip pecan pie. And, at work, we decorate for Christmas. We always decorate the music building the Sunday before we leave for Thanksgiving break. (I know you aren’t supposed to decorate for Christmas until after Thanksgiving is over, but it’s the best time to do it.) I’m in charge of snackage. Always.

Last year I went way overboard with food and we had way too much. I toned it down this year and made a few things. Somehow I still managed to spend all day on Saturday baking. Oh well. I (not so) secretly love it.

This year I made:
Red Velvet Cookies with White Chocolate Chips
Sugar Cut-Out Cookies with Homemade Frosting
Pretzel Kiss Thing
Peppermint Bark
Oreos Dipped in White Chocolate and Crushed Peppermint

Some of these things are not so complicated to make. Example: dip oreos in melted almond bark and dip in crushed candy canes. Put on wax paper and let harden in fridge. Easy as pie. Heck, easier than pie. Peppermint bark is also super easy. Melt almond bark and stir in crushed up candy canes. Spread on wax paper and harden in fridge. You can jazz it up a bit by doing a layer of dark chocolate first, but it’s good either way. If you add more chocolate that means we can be friends.

I wish I had a picture of the pretzel things I want you to make. But…they all got eaten. They’re really popular. They’re also super easy though. And the perfect balance of sweet and salty. Like trail mix but waaaaaaay better.

Make some goodies. Watch an entire season of Downton Abbey in one night. Decorate a tree. Be thankful.

Chocolate Pretzel Bites

makes as many as you want

Preztels

Chocolate kisses

Regular M&Ms (or peanut butter ones, I won’t be picky)

Preheat the oven to 150-200 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Spread pretzels out on the cookie sheet. Unwrap the chocolate kisses and put one kiss on each pretzel. (This is best done while watching a movie.) Put the sheet in the oven for about 2-3 minutes or until the kisses are melty. Test this by pressing one M&M into the kiss; if it sinks down all the way they’re ready. If not, leave them in the oven for a couple more seconds. It doesn’t take long. When the kisses are melty, remove from the oven and smush one M&M into each kiss. (Also, best done while watching a movie.) Chill in the fridge until firm. Eat by the handful.

4 responses to “pre-Christmas goodies.

  1. insidetheph says:

    1. I LOVE all those things you baked. Super jealous I wasn’t there this year to eat them.
    2. LOVE the pictures of the decorations, it looks like you guys nailed the understated elegance. Again.
    3. I KNEW you’d get hooked on Downton. Knew it.
    4. I miss you guys terribly already. Please come back and see me again soon.

    • kreedy09 says:

      It’s true, she is obsessed with Downton. I’m so proud of her.
      THE RED VELVET COOKIES ARE MY FAVORITE. Even though I took some with me, you should send me some in Oxford. I’ll get you the address ASAP.
      Also, I like that my classy Bach made the picture cut. We decided he had a forbidden love with one of the angel tree toppers. They were kept apart by different limb ratios. Very Romeo and Juliet.

    • joymatthews says:

      We miss you too!! We’ll be back sometime (minus Katina)! I was really close to burning down the big tree out of spite. I just can’t do understated elegance. ;)
      Also, Downton Abbey is so freaking good. I can’t even deal with it. Love. It.

  2. Aunt Joan says:

    Joy, your name fits you perfectly! I’m enjoying your blog. Love you, Aunt Joan.

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

