joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

martha’s snickerdoodles.

on November 8, 2012

This, my friends, has been a long time coming. Remember last week when I said I was making snickerdoodles that night and then totally didn’t? Yeah that happened. Life got super stressful, I was letting myself believe I wasn’t good enough for anything, and things were going poorly. But! This week is better. I’ve had different thoughts about how things should go in my life, I had a really good oboe lesson yesterday, and I made these awesome cookies. Life is looking up.

Snickerdoodles are (to me) the essential fall cookie. They’re so fall-sish with the cinnamon sugar coating. Love it. The best thing about these cookies right now is that I’m taking them with me to visit an awesome family this weekend. My friends Katina and Bethany and I are roadtripping over to our friend/old boss Amanda over at Inside the PH (adorable baby pictures here!!). Her husband, Matt of Modern Day Matthew, told me when they moved that I couldn’t visit unless I brought cookies. So here we are. Cookies.

These are some of the best snickerdoodles I’ve eaten. Probably right after Grandma’s because no one beats her cookies. They’re Grandpa’s favorite. This is Martha Stewart’s recipe because I needed one that didn’t call for cream of tarter. It’s not a bad thing, I just don’t have any. My bad. These bake up really nicely. They were perfectly crunchy from the slightly caramelized sugar and cinnamon on the bottom yet still soft in the middle. That’s pretty near perfect.

Bake some cookies. Visit old friends. Think before you speak. Let yourself relax.

Martha’s Snickerdoodles

makes 3 dozen cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 and 1/2 cups sugar

2 large eggs

2 and 3/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

cinnamon sugar: 2 Tablespoons sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper, set aside. In a small bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set the flour mixture aside. In a large bowl with an electric mixer cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time to the mixture and combine well. Slowly add the flour mixture, about a cup at a time. Mix on slow or by hand until all of the flour is mixed very well into the dough. Repeat until the entire flour mixture has been used. Use a cookie scoop, or by measure by eye, to make even sized balls of dough. Roll the dough in the cinnamon sugar mixture and place on the prepared baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 6 minutes then rotate the pan in the oven and bake for an additional 3-4 minutes. The cookies are done when they edges barely turn golden brown and the middle is just set. Remove pan from oven and cool cookies on pan for 2-3 minutes and then move to a wire cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Store extra cookies in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

One response to “martha’s snickerdoodles.

  1. angela says:

    don’t believe the lies…you’re awesome. also, the things you bake are awesome. i made these tonight and would rather eat them for dinner than what my roommate is making. thanks for sharing your life and your recipes. keep it up. :)

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

