joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

peanut butter chunk ice cream.

on September 13, 2012

There’s one person in everyone’s life that is there to challenge you and test your patience. I’m struggling with that person right now. You know what I decided to do? Rise above it. I refuse to play the games and fall into the same attitude as them. Rise above the lies that person is spreading about me and continue being myself. I won’t let you win. Alright…rant over. Sorry for that. Just needed to get it off my chest…it’s been a long day.

Let’s talk about ice cream. I just got an ice cream maker last week. I’ve been wanting one for a long time but those puppies are expensive. Holding out paid off though because I got a Cuisnart one for $15 (thank you Kohl’s cash!). That is how a college student shops.

I decided my first homemade ice cream would be the peanut butter cup recipe that came with the ice cream maker. All things that I love; peanut butter, chocolate, ice cream. Excellent. Maybe because it’s my first batch of ice cream or maybe it’s because it’s homemade but it didn’t quite turn out like I wanted it to. I do believe it’s a good recipe, maybe I just need more practice.

(Tomorrow I’m making dairy and egg free cupcakes. I’ve got a bake-off to win.)
(Also, here’s a picture of my cat. Because I can.)

Make some ice cream. Let the haters hate. Be yourself.

Peanut Butter Chuck Ice Cream

from the Cuisnart recipe book

makes about 6 cups

1 cup peanut butter (not natural)

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 cup whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup chopped peanut butter cups (I got a bag of minis and cut them in half)

In a medium mixing bowl cream peanut butter and sugar together with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the milk and mix on low. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla. Chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours. After the chill time plug in your ice cream maker and according to the directions for your ice cream maker** pour the mixture into the bowl and churn until the soft consistency is reached. My recipe said it would take 20-30 minutes, but it only took about 15. Five minutes before the ice cream is done add the chopped peanut butter cups and let them mix thoroughly. If you want a firmer ice cream place in an air tight container and freeze longer.

**My ice cream maker is one where the bowl where the ice cream goes is a double layered bowl that you freeze for about 18 hours before use. That means you don’t need rock salt or whatever else you need for some other things. So follow the directions that you know about your ice cream maker. :)

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

