joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

chocolate chip cookie dough balls.

on August 9, 2012

This post should be entitled: “it’s ten o’clock at night and joy was really craving cookie dough but won’t let herself eat what is already in the freezer.” That might have been a little bit too long though. There are four different kinds of cookie dough in my freezer right now totaling about twenty-five dozen cookies. And I have a boxed mix of gluten free cookies in my pantry. That’s going to be about thirty dozen cookies. Lord, help us all.

All those cookies are for band camp. Band camp starts on Sunday. Well…technically for me it starts on Friday. That’s tomorrow. I’m so not ready for that. That means my summer is over. This was my last summer before I’m a college senior. The last summer before real life starts.

Okay…enough of that scary nonsense. Let’s talk about cookie dough. That’s much more comfortable. This cookie dough is egg-less. You know what that means right? You can eat this and not feel bad about it!! That’s my favorite thing! Everything is pretty much the same as normal cookie dough except there isn’t any baking powder because it won’t be baked. The water replaces the egg and helps hold everything together. I made a fairly small batch only because if I keep a lot of cookie dough around I will eat it all. Danger. You can adjust the recipe according to your needs and how much cookie dough it’s safe for you to have around.

Make some cookie dough. Hang out with friends. Share the cookie dough. Stop freaking out. Be thankful.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

makes about a dozen balls

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup plus 2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon water

1/2 cup flour

1/4 mini semisweet chocolate chips

milk chocolate chips for melting and drizzling

In a bowl with a wooden spoon cream (or stir together) the butter and brown sugar until well combined. Add vanilla, water, and flour. Mix very well. Stir in the chocolate chips. Use a cookie scoop and scoop dough onto a plate lined with wax paper. Chill in the fridge for 20-30 minutes until dough firms up. While balls are cooling melt about a handful of milk chocolate chips in the microwave in 20 second intervals until completely melted. Drizzle or dollop chocolate onto cookie dough balls. Return to fridge and chill for another 10-15 minutes. Serve cold.

These should last in the fridge in an airtight container for 2-3 days (but they really won’t last that long).

2 responses to “chocolate chip cookie dough balls.

  1. insidetheph says:

    “Lord help us all”? Alright DR.

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Modern Day Matthew

A 21st Century Disciple

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

