joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

vegan mango banana bread.

on August 7, 2012

I’ve been wanting to make something vegan for a long time. Not because I am vegan (I love meat and eggs way too much for that) but because one of my professors is allergic to dairy and eggs and so is his family. He makes jokes all the time about people not making him dairy and egg free things and I always tell him that I’ll make him and his family something. He directs the orchestra at my college and I was late everyday last semester. In my defense, I had to work until orchestra started. At least I had a good reason and wasn’t involved in any shenanigans of any kind. Something always came up when I was leaving that I had to help with, so it just happened that way.

Anyway…I totally forgot where that was going…

Mango! I haven’t worked with mangoes. Ever. I’m doing two new things right now. Wait. No. Three new things. I’ve never made banana bread either. That’s pretty intense for me. This recipe is from Joy the Baker. Shocking, I know. Someday I’ll learn to make my own recipes. Until then I’ll just share awesome ones with you.

I got really worried when making this because the batter was really thick. I’m used to cookie dough and cake batter. This was way different. But after baking and growing a little bit it turned out really well. I’m pretty proud of it and I’m really glad to share it with great people.

Make some banana bread, have some friends over, and watch a movie about young love. And maybe cry a little at the end. It’s totally acceptable.

P.S. Is the only way you remember how to spell bananas because of that really inappropriate Gwen Stefani song? Yeah, I figured that was just me.

Vegan Mango Banana Bread

from Joy the Baker

makes one 9×5 loaf pan

3 medium bananas

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 fresh mango, sliced into chunks

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease and flour a 9×5 loaf pan. In a large bowl mash the bananas. Add the sugar, oil, and vanilla and whisk until combined. Sift in the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Stir everything until the wet and dry ingredients are incorporated. Fold in the mango chunks. The batter will be pretty thick. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Sprinkle with granulated sugar if you would like to. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a knife interested into the top comes out clean. Cool in the pan for about 20 minutes and then remove the bread from the pan and cool completely on a cooling rack. Serve at room temperature. If gifting, wrap the cooled bread in plastic wrap and tie with a ribbon or string.

The bread will last well wrapped for up to five days.

2 responses to “vegan mango banana bread.

  1. Neal says:

    Joy’s vegan recipes are delicious!

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

