joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

one of those days.

on August 2, 2012

You know those days when you just don’t want to do anything? I’ve been having one of those days for the last few days. Example: I ate cookies for dinner last night. It wasn’t pretty. I’m slightly ashamed. Not because I ate cookies for dinner but because it was store bought cookie dough. It happened.

I want to bake but I don’t know what. I’ve scoured Pinterest and different blogs and a really crappy cookbook that I have to no avail. I think I’ll make you crepes tomorrow. They are great. I think instead of sharing a recipe I’ll share a little bit more about myself. Is that cool? Cool. There’ll be pictures. If that makes a difference.

This picture was taken by my lovely friend Morgan. I had this idea to give my mom a photo album of pretty nice pictures of my brothers and I for Christmas. She cried. It was great. My brothers are pretty great. They like to eat food and I like to make it. Ian (right) is two years older than me but only one grade level ahead. Paul (left) is one year younger but two grade levels behind. We all get along…for the most part.

This picture is kind of old, but I love it. That’s my cat Coda. We got her on my 17th birthday and she’s been my sidekick since then. In that picture I’m pretty sure she’s sitting on Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. She’s pretty scholarly. But unfortunately she stays at home while I’m at school. During my senior year of high school she would sit outside my bedroom door and meow in the mornings. Like my own personal alarm clock! There are days when I really miss her. I think I have enough pictures on my phone to keep me sane though.

I got this in the mail today. I am ridiculously excited. I haven’t played anything from the 20th century period of music yet. Well, okay Strauss isn’t totally modern, but he counts. He’s more modern than Mozart, Handel, and Marcello so I’m okay with it. (To hear more about my musical endeavors check out the page up at the top “Now Playing.”)

Yesterday my roommate moved up to Chicago. We caravaned three cars up there with all her stuff and helped her move in. It was pretty fun. I decided that I am much too laid back to compete with all those crazy Chicago drivers. Which is saying something because usually I’m not laid back..but I was wearing sweatpants so that probably had something to do with it. Anyway, now I’m down a roommate while my other two are off singing and playing lovely music for Jesus somewhere in the surrounding states. And I’m fighting a losing battle to a fly in my apartment most likely due to the use of a slotted spoon as a flyswatter. This is what happens when I don’t bake. Bad news, friends.

I’ll bake something tomorrow. I gotta go catch a fly.

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Minister of Finance

Where Ministry & Money Meet

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

