joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

vanilla buttermilk cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.

on July 31, 2012

Some people are stress eaters. I am a stress baker. When I get stressed out I bake. Like right now. I started freaking about the fact that it’s pretty much August and I only have about 11 days before my life gets taken over by marching band and school. This terrified me. So I went to Hobby Lobby and walked around to calm down and then went to Kroger to buy sugar. It’s all okay now. My roommate, her sister, and myself jammed out to fun. (they’re an awesome band) and baked. I’m less stressed and now have delicious cupcakes. Win-win.

I still have buttermilk in my fridge and I need to use it. So far we’ve had cinnamon rolls and pancakes. Cupcakes seem to be a nice fit. And because Annie, the sister of my roommate, just got back from a year in Israel and they don’t have cupcakes there. Appalling. Also because she made us delicious curry chicken and this was a perfect dessert.

The cupcakes are light and sweet while the frosting is creamy and a little bit tangy. This is the perfect combination. You do need to know a secret about cream cheese frosting though. The cream cheese and the butter need to be at room temperature when you beat them. This is a necessity. Otherwise your frosting will be grainy and not smooth. Not a good combination.

These are good ‘I need to stop freaking out’ cupcakes. Sometimes you just need that. Sometimes you need it multiple times a week. I’ll keep you updated. Speaking of updates; the cookie count in my freezer is up to 15 and 1/5 dozen, and miraculously they’re all still there! I guess my will-power is greater than I thought. At least there’s cupcakes to keep my sweet teeth occupied. Make these cupcakes, stop freaking out, and dance around the kitchen like a crazy person. Or maybe just make cupcakes.

Vanilla Buttermilk Cupcakes

recipe from Fabtastic Eats

makes 12 cupcakes

for the cupcakes:

1 1/3 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper or foil liners. In a small bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a large bowl beat the butter and sugar together with an electric mixer until creamy. Add the egg, vanilla, and almond. Mix until creamy. Add half of the flour mixture and beat on low until combined. Beat in all of the buttermilk and finally the rest of the flour mixture. Mix until everything is combined. Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until the tops of the cupcakes are golden brown and a knife inserted into the top comes out clean. Cool for a few minutes in the pan and then remove to cool on a cooling rack. Cool completely before frosting or the frosting could melt on the cupcakes.

Store cupcakes in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

for the cream cheese frosting:

I used 10 Tablespoons of butter, 6 ounces of cream cheese, a capful of vanilla extract, and about 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. This is a recipe that you can change up to make however much you want. You can also make it suit your tastes. Just make sure the butter and cream cheese are at room temperature. Beat them together, add the vanilla, and then add enough powdered sugar to get the consistency and sweetness you desire.

One response to “vanilla buttermilk cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.

  1. Shlee says:

    Wow!! These sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

