joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

peanut butter oatmeal cookies.

on July 25, 2012

I’m the type of person that will leave a little extra cookie dough in the bowl when I’m done making them just to eat it. Not the small amount normal people leave in after scraping down the sides. I will intentionally leave enough dough for at least one cookie on the spatula so I can eat it. There’s the whole salmonella thing, but I’m not all that worried about it. There are, however, only certain kinds of cookie dough I do this with. Chocolate chip cookies, white chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies, s’mores cookies, moose tracks cookies (don’t worry, I’ll share that recipe later), and oatmeal cookies. Especially when they involve peanut butter.

I have some friends going on a family vacation and I wanted to make them a little snack to take along. My mom always used to make chocolate chip oatmeal cookies when we went on vacation so there was a little bit of inspiration. We’d always do a double batch and share them with all our family. It was awesome. These aren’t quite those cookies, but they’re still super delicious. I’m also trying to make some healthier things, and I don’t know if this counts or not, but oatmeal is good for you so I say it does. I’ll learn to make healthy things someday…maybe.

Peanut butter is one of my most favorite things. Cookies are also pretty high up there as well. Right under my cat and music. I’ve always said: if you like cookies, we’ll get along just fine.

Oh, I added some chocolate chips to the last bit of batter before I baked them. Yeah, it was still delicious. They aren’t totally necessary though. There is a lot of sweet going on in these, but there’s a kick of cinnamon that adds are really rich depth to the cookies. If you don’t put cinnamon in cookies you need to start. Like, now. Please?

These are good cookies for sharing. Just keep that in mind. You’ll make a lot of friends.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

adapted from Pillsbury

makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup old-fashioned oats

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cookies sheets with parchment paper and set aside. Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder and set aside. In a large bowl with an electric mixer cream together brown sugar and butter until smooth and creamy. Add in egg, vanilla, and peanut butter. Beat until well combined. Add half the dry ingredients and beat. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the remaining dry ingredients. Mix until everything is incorporated. Fold the oats in with a spatula. The dough will be a little bit wet and sticky, but it’s okay. That means they’ll spread well in the oven. Drop onto lined baking sheets and bake for 7-9 minutes or until the edges are slightly golden brown. Cool on the baking sheet until they’re set enough to move to a cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

These cookies will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Modern Day Matthew

A 21st Century Disciple

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

