joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

best friend birthdays.

on July 22, 2012

Today is one of my really good friend’s birthday today! He’s super awesome and one of the coolest people I know. He’s pretty much a brother to me. We’ve been friends for a couple years and they’ve been fun times. We often take late-night trips to the grocery store to buy baking things. He lives in Texas which is a really long ways away from Illinois. I decided to make him a sweet birthday package full of awesome things not only to celebrate his birthday, but also to make up for my poor friendship in the last few months. (Sometimes I get really stressed out and become a hermit…I’m cool like that.) So this is an idea of a package to send to your far-away friends.

Remember when I said I was knitting dinosaurs? It was awhile ago, so I don’t blame you if you don’t remember. Mike gets a brachiosaurus because he’s super tall and it made sense. It’s pretty adorable. There were also some other non-food things: a crocheted Yoda, an Aston Martin hot wheel, and a birthday card. All of which are super awesome.

There was a lot of food in there as well. Birthday cake fudge wrapped up in a lot of plastic wrap to make sure it didn’t melt all over and then stuffed into an empty butter box (I had to improvise on packaging). A box of s’mores cookies which pretty much embody summer and are delicious. And 3 mason jars full of birthday cake and frosting. This is super easy. I used a boxed cake mix. You probably think this is terrible because I hate canned frosting, but boxed cake mixes are so great when you don’t have a lot of time or just don’t feel like doing anything really stressful. I like those things. Also because funfetti is the bomb. Ask anyone; they’ll agree with that statement.

This is how this cake in a jar works. Bake the cake according to the directions. Let the cake cool. Make some frosting. Crumble some cake into the bottom of the jar. Put frosting in a pastry bag and pipe a layer over the cake. Add more cake almost to the top of the jar. Cover with frosting. At this point I added some plastic wrap to help keep the cake good, but you don’t have to do that. Put the lid on and share with a friend. Simple and fun. Love it.

Happy birthday, Mike!!!

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

mattupshaw.com

My Thoughts & Writings

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

