joyeux cuisine

a blog about good food, family, friends, and life.

family week. and no bake cookies.

on July 7, 2012

This week was not only the hottest week we’ve had in a really long time, but it was also the week when my cousin Aaron married his wonderful fiance, Liz. It was a really excellent time for our family to get together and celebrate life. The picture to the left is of the guy cousins with our grandpa and the girl cousins with our grandma. See those two guys on the left that look exactly alike? Those are my ridiculous brothers. They aren’t twins, but they sure do look like it. I’m the one second from the right, just in case you haven’t figured out who I am yet. Don’t worry; there’s time for that.

My extended family is awesome. And they throw pretty sweet weddings. We had these chocolate chip M&M cookies that were amazing. I am determined to recreate them, so keep an eye out. Also these beef skewers marinated in something wonderful. I’ll work on those too. Good things happen when my family gets together.

We’re a food family. When we get together we eat. My grandma is the best baker I know. She makes homemade cinnamon bread and sweet rolls and so many other good things. During Christmas, you’ll find at least seven kinds of cookies in her kitchen (seven is a Biblical number, so it works out). Those will be featured here later. It’s way too hot to turn the oven on today (except that I did…to make scones…they didn’t quite turn out like I had hoped..gotta work on that..).

Here’s the thing about no bake cookies: there are so many recipes for them that it’s hard to figure out which ones are good. This one is awesome. It is ridiculously easy and so good. I will seriously eat dozens of these by myself. They aren’t quite what you expect from no bakes, but they are great for summer days when you don’t want to bake anything. It starts with butter, sugar, and milk. Three very great things that you usually can’t go wrong with. Just stick this in the microwave for a few minutes until everything is melted and mixed together. Then you just throw in the rest of the ingredients, mix everything up with a spatula, and then drop them onto wax paper.

It’s that simple. I promise you will adore these. The hardest part about making these is letting them cool. (sometimes I don’t even do that…real life) They have coconut in them, so be warned. But I have found that even people who don’t like coconut will eat these (my little brother for instance). Make these cookies, share them with your loved ones, and enjoy life. That’s what it’s for.

 

 

 

No Bake Cookies

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

3 cups quick oats

5 Tablespoons cocoa powder

1 cup coconut

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Spread out a sheet of wax paper on a table or counter top. In a large microwave safe bowl mix sugar, milk, and butter. Microwave for 2-3 minutes until the butter is melted and the sugar is mostly dissolved. Quickly mix in the oats, cocoa powder, coconut, and vanilla until everything is combined and thoroughly mixed. Drop onto the wax paper to cool. Serve at room temperature.

These cookies will last in an airtight container (or cookie jar) for 7-10 days. I recommend separating layers with wax paper so they don’t stick together.

Leave a Reply

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

CreativeWhimsy

A blog about one person's creative attempts

"Give a girl an education..."

The random musings of a traveler turned grad student.

Katina's Adventures Abroad

Follow my journey in Oxford, England.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

Learning to Speak

An Expression of Faith

Modern Day Matthew

A 21st Century Disciple

Inside the PH

Learning to Live Inside the Pastor's House

Peace, Love & Fashion

I am Anne & I Blog Fashion

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

